Nominate Candidate for the 2019 International Gender Equality Prize

International Gender Equality Prize

The call for proposals for the Finnish Government’s International Gender Equality Prize is now all set to the public. The prize, which will be awarded for the second time in autumn 2019, can go to a person or organization working to promote gender equality in an internationally significant way

The prize, established the then in 2017 in honor of the 100th anniversary of Finland’s independence, was first awarded to Federal Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel, whose life’s work has made her one of the world’s most influential people and an example to many women and girls.

The Government of Finland awards the prize based on the suggestion of an international jury. The members of the jury for 2019 are Pekka Haavisto (chair), Member of Parliament, Eva Biaudet, President of the National Council of Women of Finland, Katja Iversen, President and CEO of Women Deliver, Anneli Jätteenmäki, Member of the European Parliament and first female Prime Minister of Finland, and Dean Peacock, co-founder and Co-Executive Director of South African NGO Sonke Gender Justice.

The International Gender Equality Prize is awarded once every two years in cooperation with the City of Tampere. The next prize will be awarded in autumn 2019.

SOS FEVVF, the recipient of the sum donated as part of the International Gender Equality Prize in 2017, is using the funds to realise their long-time dream of establishing a residential shelter. Construction work on the shelter, located in the Nigerien capital of Niamey, began in mid-October.

The goal is for the shelter, which we call the house of hope, to be ready to open its doors at the start of 2019. We will begin our operations in temporary facilities before the new building is complete,” Mariama Moussa continues.

Location: Online

  • Price amount is EUR 300,000,
  • The recipient for the International Gender Equality Prize will not be awarded the prize money rather they will identify a cause that has advanced gender equality in a globally significant way.
  • This internal gender Equality Prize is open for person or an organization having advanced gender equality in a globally significant way.
  • Nominations must be written in English.
  • All relevant information must be included in the form; additional information sent separately will not be accepted.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Eligible Regions:  Open for All.

Application Deadline : December 31, 2018

Application Process: Please apply through the link below.

Apply Now   Official Link  

Disclaimer: Try Scholarship disseminates opportunity information for your ease of convenience based on availability of information, and therefore, does not accept any responsibility arising out for the unintended changes or imprecise information. As this is not the official opportunity providers’ page, we always prefer you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for fullest information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Same Level of Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *